article image

eTwinning Plus celebrates the Eastern Partnership (EaP)

eTwinning Plus offers a platform for staff, working in a school in one of the neighbouring countries involved, to collaborate and be part of an extended eTwinning community.

The Eastern Partnership inaugurated by the European Union in Prague, Czech Republic on 7 May 2009 is a joint policy initiative which aims to deepen and strengthen relations between the European Union (EU), its Member States and its six Eastern neighbours: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

eTwinning Plus was established to provide a platform for staff (teachers, head teachers, librarians, etc.), working in a school in one of the neighbouring countries involved (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine), to communicate, collaborate, develop projects and be part of an extended eTwinning learning community.

“It is a plus because it was an addition to what we already had in eTwinning but it is also a plus in the sense that everyone benefited from having these countries involved” states Michael Teutsh, Head of Unit “School and Educators; Multilingualism” DG Education and Culture, highlighting the added value that those countries give to eTwinning.

In the video below three representatives from the Partner Support Agencies of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Ukraine tell us about eTwinning Plus. They highlight the fundamental role of eTwinning in creating international partnership opportunities, professional development programmes for teachers as well as innovative methods and more effective lessons that make students highly motivated and more creative.

eTwinning truly changed the way of teaching and learning, giving teachers the opportunity to network with other countries, to challenge themselves and to improve their skills.